The Ankeny Quilters’ Guild wants to recognize our members for quilting and quilt-related awards and accomplishments. If you have won an award or published an article or pattern please let us know so we may feature you.

The Mary Conkel Award began in 2002 and is given annually to any guild member who embodies the following characteristics: Volunteers for jobs “behind the scenes” for the guild, including making donation quilts, volunteering for shifts at the guild show, and in other ways throughout the year. May be modest about their talents, although they may be considerable, and shares that knowledge and enthusiasm of quilting with others. May be involved in other community service activities. May have offered a number of years of service to the guild.

Unfortunately, due to funding for this award running out, the Mary Conkel Award is no longer offered.  The following are the award winners in the past.

Sharon McCarthy 2012 Mary Conkel Award Winner









Mary Conkel Award Winners

Year Name




Sharon McCarthy

Peggy Vespestad

Susan Body

2008 Jenna Ingle & Debbie Pierschbacher
2007 Linda Schlenker
2006 Gloria Ross
2005 Pat Tschantz
2004 Joyce Romick
2003 Amy Leonard
2002 Ruth Chitwood

Mary conkel

Left to right: Mary Conkel, Lucille Wartburg, and Joyce Romick